Full of excuses..

…that’s what they all say.

 

Ok, so.. it seems to be a common phrase around here.. but, it’s been a while.. again

BEEN A WHILE

It’s not for lack of wanting to write.. just…

.. not all at once.. (of course) ..just every day.. and/or every other day.. it’s something different that throws me off my rails… but apparently…. that’s unacceptable.. (hahah.. )

UNACCEPTABLE

(This face totally looks like a fatter, less cute & more orange version of my cat.. his BFAM) 

ANYWAY…. I don’t really have much to write about today.  I just felt like hittin’ the keys… makes me feel nostalgic.. (oh yeah… and I got a bitchin’ new 2-in-1 laptop.. but that has nothing to do with it..haha..)  I’ve always wanted to.. well, kinda still do.. write a novel on an old typewriter.  I even went out and bought a vintage Remington..
REMINGTON

buuuut… it needs ink.. (see??  Always an excuse…)

Up until now, I’ve been writing on here mostly from my phone.. which has spoiled my writing skillz extensively!   I’m used to:

  • “predictive text”
  • auto correct
  • auto capitalization
  • AND punctuation.

Regardless, I’ve never… ever.. been a good speller!  In fact, I’m probably one of the worst spellers out there…

(I’m such a glutton for this stupid movie… it’s priceless and filled with great catch phrases… like, “STOP trying to make ‘fetch’ work!!” L..M..A..O..)

YET..  I’m a total grammar officer.  GRAMMER

The worst – when people misplace “I” and “Me/Myself”.. thinking they are doing the right thing, (which just breaks my heart because I know they are sincerely trying to say the correct word… they just miss the mark..)

Alas, technology has ruined, the already fragile state of, my fractured literature base.

I have a kinda Love/Hate relationship with technology.

HOWEVER.. my biggest weakness is;

  • my soft spot for more simple times; when people wrote letters on fine paper – sealed with wax, WAX SEAL (which I have of course..)
  • when they sat at a typewriter and couldn’t afford to make mistakes
  • and knew how to write with beautiful, fine, penmanship.. PEN AND PAPER]

Basicly, what I’m trying to get around to is that it’s nice to actually TYPE right now rather than tap… I feel less like a drone…DUMB 3

Another lost function, by the way;  very few people even know how to type with out looking at the keyboard anymore.. much less the number pad.. (which I only know how to do from working at a bank..)

Now, don’t get it twisted… I am not saying I’m perfect.. by ANY means.. I never would have survived life, or followed my love of writing, (no matter how meaningless and unappreciated it is..) without Spell Check

Open Letter to the Inventor of Spell Check

Dear Programer Who Invented Spell Check and Made it Available Everywhere:

I never would have gotten this far in Life without you.  Thank you so much for this simple, yet crucial, function.

Naturally, there are still human glitches.  On my resume it said I went to collage, not college.  Fortunately, it was a lateral move within the company, the interview was just a formality, and my new boss had a sense of humor, which, strangely, I never witnessed again.  He was very serious. Bob.

Anyway, I digress.. your little piece of seemingly insignificant piece of code is my life saver in the sea of words that I love, but can’t spell.  English is a stupid language.  I want to create my own language where words have one meaning and are spelled the way they sound.  (Just put it on the list with my novel…)

Sincerely,

Katnip

Yeah… that about sums it up.. thank Goddess I didn’t stick around there too long.  Something about a back surgery or something that has kept me  from working since. (circa 2011)

Who wants to be a banker in their home town anyway??  “Sorry neighbor-who’s-name-I-don’t-know, but you’re negative $526.17.  See ya ’round the ‘hood!’  Or, “Hey Guy-I-Used-to-Crush-on-for-2-Years!  Oh, you teach gym?  Wow.. you suck more than I do!” Then… worst of all – when a classmate comes in and is redic successful and I realise I’M the biggest loser in the room now..LOSER]

F*ck that noise..

That job was awesome until that transfer.. yet leaving was the best thing that ever happened to me, work wise.  Otherwise, I would never have;

  • been gracing you with my words.. (hahaha..)
  • discovered duck tape art and rekindled my creativity (a bank will suck all creativity right outta ya’!!)
  • reconnected with my True Love TRUE LOVE 1
  • experience all the millions of tiny miracles since then TINY MIRACLES
  • meet all the amazing.. (and awful..) people that I’ve come across
  • learned some pretty awesome things
  • realized what real friendship and family is REAL FRIENDS
  • or been more grateful for the health I have now
    GRATEFUL

Whenever I feel down or like things aren’t going ‘the way they should’ I write a list of (at least) TEN things I’m grateful for and why…  most of the time it works.. then I look at the last list I made and often they are pretty similar… which makes me realize ‘shit’s not so bad’ and I have consistent good things in my life… that’s what I think I’m most grateful for.  It’s important to take stock once in a while…I highly recommend it.  STOCK

Okay… well, this was a fun tangent.  TANGENT

 

 

 

I have to go be productive now… as much as I would love to keep rambling and listening to music.. it’s morning now, and I forgot to sleep again… NO SLEEP

 

 

 

 

Thanks for tuning in.. who ever you are..  tHANK YOU

 

 

 

Light &Love

~ Katnip

LIGHT & LOVE 3

 

Leave a Reply

