Velvet Knife

 

Drowning in his words.
Dying from his touch.
Slicing my Love
with his velvet knife.
Invading my fruit
like a life bearing demon.

And then he’s gone.

Tiny movements touch my heart,
my stomach all in knots.
Mourning with bile.
Not from loss but from life.
Craving things I’ve never known.
Crying things no one understands.

And from the darkness.

My Savior armed with a smile
and a tear.
Angry and confused,
both of us ashamed.
Questions answered
over a plastic cup of antibodies.

And I’m alone again.

Sprawled out on a magic table.
Two carcasses of Love
Suffering from different kinds of pain.
Counting backwards into the fog.
Then she was gone from me
with a velvet knife.
My gift of life just a memory of love

One thought on “Velvet Knife

Leave a Reply

